Springing back to Health

Every year, winter seems to stretch on for longer than it should, and I’m always relieved when I notice the first budding leaves appear on the trees. Despite this, spring is probably my least favourite season; it seems shorter and less well-defined than the others – at least in our part of the country; just a few weeks characterised by daffodils braced against the rain and cherry blossoms swirling like pink snowflakes in the breeze to separate winter from summer.

This weekend my husband and I took a wander through a local park to admire the spring blossom on the trees. There have been times over the past while when I have felt like one of those little petals tumbling out of control in the currents of life. Between moving house, nursing our cat Mara back to health, my husband being injured in a cycling accident and various other happenings, the first quarter of 2017 has left me feeling somewhat weary.

I’ve also been struggling with writer’s block; I’ve always found writing therapeutic, but it can be hard to organise my thoughts when life is turbulent. In blogs and social networks, we have the power to rewrite events and portray our lives from the most flattering and rose-tinted angles, yet writing also gives us the chance to reflect on our experiences and find meaningful lessons in our most mundane and lowest moments. Over the last few years, I’ve learned that whenever I feel weary or overwhelmed, it’s time to slow down.

FullSizeRender (1)

I’ve lost count of how many vet appointments I’ve taken my cat to in the last few months, but I’ve been neglecting my own health and a recent illness reminded me to stop taking it for granted.

My husband and I have always enjoyed cooking and eating together, but cooking from scratch takes planning, time and effort, and it fell by the wayside when we were rushing around or under pressure, we survived on takeaways and reheating frozen food for a while instead. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that I became ill after neglecting my nutrition so we’re making more effort to cook from scratch using fresh ingredients and adding a few new recipes to our repertoire, and we’re already feeling better for it.

After a sporadic attendance over the winter, I’ve returned to my weekly yoga class. It requires a little more effort now I live further away, but I usually feel physically and emotionally calm and refreshed after yoga. We’ve found a local swimming pool, and once my husband has healed up, we’ll resume swimming on Saturday mornings. Due to my laziness, my husband has to bribe and cajole me to go almost every week, but once I’m in the pool swimming has a meditative effect on me and I get a little sense of achievement as the number of lengths I can swim gradually increases each week. We’ve also been taking advantage of the better weather to work in our garden, chatting to our neighbours over the hedge while sparrows, blackbirds and blue tits flutter and chirrup nearby.

IMG_5401

Taking better care of myself means I’m better prepared to weather all the setbacks and storms of life. Spring might not be my favourite season, but I can still appreciate the gentle reminder of the cherry blossoms to slow down and enjoy the lighter evenings, the warmth of the sun and new life springing up all around. Have a lovely week.

5 thoughts on “Springing back to Health

  1. Reading your post, it seems that you are perfectly in tune with the seasons, you are coming back to pick up your life after a period of hibernation. Well done for making those changes!

    I struggle with blogging sometimes, like you I enjoy the process of writing and thought when I started the blog that it would be an outlet for honest reflection. However, I find I end up portraying the rose tinted posts… I think to write from the heart is courageous, and when I have the response has always been positive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I couldn’t agree more, writing honestly is brave and it feels less scary to avoid the topics that make us feel vulnerable but I’m trying to find a balance here (and offline), between honesty about the things that go wrong and gratitude for all the things that go right. 😊

      Like

  2. Beautiful pictures of spring! We’ve been trying to get out some more now that the good weather is upon us. We definitely need more exercise where we’ve been stuck inside for a large part of the winter!

    I think writer’s block happens to most of us. I say just go with the flow and have fun with it. A little break every now and then until you get that spark isn’t always a bad thing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

